B.Sc. Physics with Electronics

  • B.Sc. Physics with ElectronicsINTRODUCTION

    In March 2008, Western Delta University, Oghara, Delta State, commenced academic activities in the Department of Physics and Energy Studies with two programme options;

    (a)     B.Sc. (Hons) Geology and Petroleum Studies,

    (b)     B.Sc. (Hons) Physics.

    In 2012 accreditation was granted to the University for the two (2) Programmes in the Department of Physics and Energy Studies by the National Universities Commission.

    In order to actualize the vision inherent in the accreditation of Physics Programme, the University, in 2015, decided to establish a full Department of Physics as a separate department that is not subsumed in the Department of Physics and Energy Studies.  It was envisaged that with “Physics with Electronics”,  the new Programme would meet the developmental demands of the twenty-first century that is ICT-driven, and attract more students.

    The University applied to the National Universities Commission NUC, for permission to mount the “Physics with Electronics” programme in the Department of Physics.  NUC approved the programme to begin in the 2016/2017 academic year.

    With a programme in Physics with Electronics approved, many prospective candidates will enrol into the new Programme.

    Consequently the Department of Physics and Energy Studies has now been split into two separate Departments of :

    (a)     Geology and Petroleum Studies, and

    (b)     Physics


    The Programme is geared towards in-depth acquisition of the scientific knowledge, skills, competence and traditions of both theoretical and practical aspects of Physics and Electronics to meet the challenges of 21stCentury environments of Scientific and Technological world. This will be achieved through lectures, laboratory work, excursion and Industrial Training to acquaint the students with the current practices in the industries and expose them to the new revolutions in technology.


    The degree programme is aimed at providing the students with the right intellectual knowledge of Physics and its related disciplines, in a conducive academic environment.  At the end of the training, the products should be able to:

    1. Pursue research in Pure and Applied Physics and Electronics in any chosen field.
    2. Work in many public and private establishments of Aviation, Petroleum Industry, Telecommunication, Meteorology, Energy Centres, Medical Physical Units, Mining and Steel Industries, Manufacturing Plants, Non-Conventional sources of energy, etc., where the knowledge of Physics is required.
    3. Train students in schools to maintain the important cycle of passing knowledge to future generations of physicists.


    1. Four (4) Year B.Sc. Programme:

    (i)      Five (5) Credit passes in SSCE or GCE Ordinary Level (or its equivalent) which must include English Language, Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and any other subject in not more than two (2) sittings.  UTME candidates shall offer English Language, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry in the Examination.

    (ii)     UTME Subjects: English Language, Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry.


    1. Three (3) Year Programme (Direct Entry):


    • Two (2) A-Level passes (or its equivalent ) or Merit in N.C.E in Physics and Mathematics / Chemistry, or at least Lower Credit in OND Physics, Engineering Science, Computer Science, or Physics with Electronics in addition to the required SSCE or GCE Ordinary Level Credits.Candidates with IJMB, JUPEB can also apply.



    In order for a student to graduate from the Department he/she must accumulate a minimum of 144 (One Hundred and Forty-Four) Credits including All Compulsory courses for a 4-year degree programme, OR 108 (One Hundred and Eight) Credits including All Compulsory courses for a 3-year degree programme

If you Have Any Questions Call Us On +2348035478543, +2348168676387